top of page

Diamonds are a girl's best friend!

The moment I held my daughter I made a promise, I promised no harm would ever come to her, I would love her unconditionally her whole life, she would never go without what she needed and she would never make a mark on her body. Today I broke my promise! Yes, I love her unconditionally; I still stand by her side and protect giving everything she needs and the means to get it herself! but today, today is the day she made a mark on her body.

​​ When Rose asked me for the 100th time I sat and asked myself, why am I saying yes or no? What argument do I have for pros and cons? As far as school goes she isn’t taking part in swimming activities again this year and as long as she places a plaster over the ear she is able to participate in physical education. This meant her school life will not be hindered at all and the only reason I have is I didn’t want her too. This to me isn’t good enough, I don’t let her use this excuse so why can I? if I let Rose not clean her room, have a bath or do the food shop because she didn’t want to I would never get anything done. To me allowing rose to pierce her ears was me acknowledging the fact she is growing, becoming mature and aware of her body and surrounding and that’s exactly what it is, her body! She in charge, she’s in control and is the boss of her own skin. This is an important message I have always made aware and will continue to do so, therefore if allowing her to have her ears pierced boosts her confidence, makes her feel glamorous and just generally feel good who am I to say no you can’t? At the end of the day, that's the reason I get my eyebrows waxed, nails and my hair done? We all like to feel as fabulous as we all are and this is why I had no queries to say heck yes let’s do this!!

I won’t lie I don’t think I was as scared as I was when I gave birth! To my knowledge no-one has ever died from getting their ears pierced but you never know! There is a first for everything! What if her head exploded? What if her ears swelled to the size of her head and she couldn’t pick it up off the floor? Yes, I am quite aware of how irrational this sound now but these were genuine thoughts that entered my shaking skull!

​​ Rose, on the other hand, was as cool as a cucumber as children are, whether this was because she has little experience with real pain or she’s just hardcore I haven’t made my mind up! We stood in the window choosing the new fine jewelry to grace my gorgeous girls face we noticed they had a birthdate section with October being pink rose! There were no queries the decision had been made, pink rose it was. The staff at Claire’s accessories were amazing the girls made sure rose was completely calm and comfortable and had full control of when and how it happened. Rose opted for duel piercing so it was done both ears at once giving the call for the trigger to be pulled. Even with a sharp pain as expected once she had set eyes on them the beam that took over was worth every penny.

There is a fine line between fueling the social image of young girls and women to become these iconic picture perfect dolls and allowing them to express their own look, individuality, and personality. Rose didn’t get her ears done to please anyone except herself, it is something she decided on her own, researched on her own and to be honest she just looks so darn cute!

Fingers crossed the conversations about hair dye and tattoos are at least another 10 years away though.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page