top of page

A Hot Mess Mama!

As I sit weeping into another cold coffee, hugging the chocolate bar I asked my husband to pick up on his way home from the airport, sitting on the stairs I can truly only class myself as one hot mess mama!

Today has been the epiphany that I will never be an Instagram mum.

The dirty washing is overflowing the plastic bucket, (I am yet to replace the washing basket that broke last month!) and the clean washing sits half folded, half screwed up where my 9-year-old has frantically ripped through the pile looking for her must wear t-shirt after realising it was non uniform day not 12 hours before!

I hide the dirty dishes from tea the night before in the broken dishwasher because I have no hot water due to the radiator falling off the wall, after said 9 year old used it as a gymnastics beam one too many times, and god forbid the plumber to see a dirty dish! What kind of a mother would he think I am! But hey at least I could fill the kettle with bottled water to make a brew...all I

​​

needed was to remember to drink it! In my blind panic, I neglected the fact that to repair the radiator would mean access is required throughout the house and as I am not allowed in my tweens bedroom, or dire consequences await me, I was unaware of the war zone awaiting me.

My house isn't dirty...I'm sure there are plenty of houses out there worse than mine and at this point, I YouTube old 'how clean is my house' videos to lift my morals, but how shocked was I to find the plumber that arrived was an old school friend! The wave of embarrassment flooded over me, much like the water from the pipe he had come to mend. Suddenly I became hypersensitive to how much work I needed on my house. I noticed the skirting boards and how badly there are calling for a touch-up and the worn out carpet on the stairs! If only I had fairy godmothers wand to magic my

my house into a showroom home that was fit for royalty!

I think I spent the whole time he was here apologizing and justifying what really is just living! Yes, we live in this home which means yes there will be dirty washing, there will be sticky fingerprints on the banister and shoes kicked off by the door. Its at times like this we need to remind ourselves we don't live online, we are a physical human being who live in real time and make a real mess. No-one can live a perfect Instagram life where the cabinets are crispy white with no bolognese splashes on the stove or that our children tidy their toys away after themselves!

So when you become overwhelmed just take a deep breath and remember its so easy to clean up in the background of a photograph and post some carefully timed photos of your kids being nice to each other to create this facade but everyone, and I mean everyone I'm sure has had a mummy meltdown on the stairs hugging a cold coffee and a chocolate bar!

​​

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page