top of page

MAMA! you got me triggered!

Today my daughter declared, 'mama you got me triggered' as I took more than 3 seconds to finish my task at hand and beckon to her demands of being tucked into bed with her nighttime routine. The statement through me! I have never heard of this is my life! What did it mean? Where had she heard it?? I have recently been binge watching seven seconds (a murder investigation on Netflix) has she heard something on there she shouldn't!

​​

In my haste I was at a loss to respond, not knowing the correct reply I just simply sigh against the kitchen counter, holy hell I have turned into that mum! I'm old, I'm only 27, yet in the eyes of my child I'm practically a grandma! And let me tell you, asking a 9-year-old to explain slang to their parents retract ANY cool point you may have mustered up throughout their lifetime and you will never see them again! Honestly, I'm sure I heard all kids in a 9 block radius slap their foreheads in sync.

Safe to say my child was all too happy to tell me I'm uncool turn her back and return to her room, leaving me to turn to trusty google in order to redeem some form of self-respect!

And in case your wondering triggered, according to the urban dictionary, means to offend or hurt an individual's feelings.

Now while I try and even contemplate the relationship between offending someone and the word triggered, with each other a glass of wine to ease the sting of losing all the cool points that were quicker to evaporate than a vampire seeing the sun. I don't mean one of the shiny sparkly ones I mean proper Dracula vampires which I'm sure my daughter now thinks I'm as old as, just take my advice, Never ask a kid to explain slang words google is our friend!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page